Volkswagen Jetta TDI Cup Races at Iowa Speedway in the Fifth Race of Series

NEWTON, Iowa – The Jetta TDI Cup will make its first appearance in Iowa this weekend at Iowa Speedway in the fifth race of the VW Jetta TDI Cup on Saturday, September 20 at 5:30 p.m. The race will mark the beginning of a demanding schedule for the final half of the series that will have the drivers racing three consecutive weekends until the finale at Road Atlanta. The 30 young drivers will face a full day on Saturday with practice, qualifying and the race all taking place on the same day, a challenging first in this inaugural season of the clean diesel series. David Jurca, Federal Way, Wash., currently leads the series as the top points earner thus far.

“With four races remaining we could see the points leader change a few times before we have our winner, and the three consecutive racing weekends will really test the abilities and endurance of these drivers,” said Clark Campbell, motorsports manager, Volkswagen of America. “We’ve had an incredibly successful first half of the series and are looking to see even more excitement as competition continues.”

The Volkswagen Jetta TDI Cup series features 30 up-and-coming drivers ages 16 to 26 driving a factory managed 2009 Jetta TDI, with the goal to find the driver with the most talent and help them break into the world of professional motorsports.

Races have taken place at VIRginia International Raceway, Mosport Raceway, Portland International Raceway and Lime Rock Park, after the driver selection that took place at Firebird International Raceway in Phoenix, Ariz. The Jetta TDI Cup series, the first all clean-diesel race series, is sanctioned by SCCA Pro Racing Inc. Sponsors for the race include: Aggreko, Athlete’s Performance, Bondurant, Bosch, ful®, Holder, Hoopla, Ironclad, Kyosho, Oakley, RedBull, UTI and ViON.

Points Scores, driver’s standings after four of eight races

Complete ranking information listed below includes ranking, driver name (points), hometown and car sponsor.

1, David Jurca (113 pts), Federal Way, Wash. – Kyosho

2, Josh Hurley (106 pts), Cooper City, Fla. – Athletes’ Performance

3, Chris Castagna (105 pts), South Boston, Mass. – Bosch

4, Mark Pombo (84 pts), Duluth, Ga. – Ful

5, Liam Kenney (83 pts), Sterling, Va. – ViON

6, Caleb Kenney (81 pts), Berkeley, Calif. – Aggreko

7, Chris Holman (78 pts), Burlington, ON, Canada – Kyosho

8, Jimmy Underhill (66 pts), Greenwood Village, Colo. – Bosch

9, Michael DeNino (64 pts), Gaithersburg, Md. – Castrol

10, Timmy Megenbier (61 pts), Melrose Park, Ill. – SCCA

11, Wyatt Dallenbach (56 pts), San Antonio, Texas – DC United

12, Derek Jones (55 pts), Philadelphia, Penn. – Oakley

13, Andy Lee (48 pts), Colorado Springs, Colo. – Red Bull

14, Gary Williams, Jr., (44 pts), Dana Point, Calif. – Oakley

15, Taylor Broekemeier (41 pts), Fort Collins, Colo. – Bondurant

16, Chris Kuenning (37 pts), Grand Rapids, Mich. – Aggreko

17, Nick Mancuso (36 pts), Mettawa, Ill. – Specialty

18, Juan Pablo Sierra Lendle (33 pts), Puebla, Mexico – SCORE

19, Andrew Cordeiro (30 pts), Woodbridge, ON, Canada – VW Credit

20, Adam Love (19 pts), Normal, Ill. – VW PreLoved

21, Jake Dallenbach (10 pts), San Antonio, Texas, Auto Logistics

22, John Shim (10 pts), Starkville, Miss. – VW Credit

23, Adam Kretschmer (9 pts), Brampton, ON, Canada – VW P&A

24, David Heinz (8 pts), Pittsburgh, Penn. – VW PreLoved

25, Chad Brassfield (6 pts), Scottsdale, Ariz. – UTI

26, Adam Crepin (6 pts), St. Louis, Mo. – SCCA

27, David Richert (3 pts), Niverville, MB, Canada – Hoopla

28, Ryan Buetzer (1 pts), Long Beach, Calif. – ViON

29, Evan Pflock (0 pts), Redondo Beach, Calif. – SCORE

30, Noah Arundel (0 pts), Tonka Bay, Minn. – VW P&A

Volkswagen of America, Inc.

Volkswagen of America, Inc. recently announced Electronic Stability Program (ESP) as standard equipment on all its 2009 vehicles. As a result, Volkswagen is one of the only original equipment manufacturers to offer an electronic stability control system on their entire product line – ahead of the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration’s (NHTSA) deadline requiring vehicles in the 2012 model year to include stability control systems. Volkswagen’s ESP technology works in conjunction with anti-lock brakes and helps reduce loss of control and rollovers to avoid crashes. NHTSA predicts nearly 10,000 lives could be saved each year if automakers included stability systems as standard equipment.

Founded in 1955, Volkswagen of America, Inc. is headquartered in Herndon, Va. It is a subsidiary of Volkswagen AG, headquartered in Wolfsburg, Germany. Volkswagen is one of the world’s largest producers of passenger cars and Europe’s largest automaker. Volkswagen sells the Rabbit, New Beetle, New Beetle convertible, GTI, Jetta, Jetta SportWagen, GLI, Passat, Passat Wagon, Eos, Tiguan and Touareg through approximately 600 independent U.S. dealers. Visit Volkswagen of America online at