VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 142 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,036 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
auto to manual swap questions

Alright guys....I consolidated this down a lot. If you see something that was accidentally deleted, or have any new info, please let me know and I will add it.
-askibum02



Modified by askibum02 at 2:01 AM 2-4-2009
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,006 Posts
Re: (ayton)

Just finished one. Not too complicated. Just labor intensive.

Helps to have a donor. Quite a few parts you need but don't think about until you get started. Like the clutch pedal. The auto has a short shaft just for the brake pedal. Drop the fuse/relay block, move the plastic wire shield out of the way, remove the clip on the right side of the shaft, and pull the shaft out the left side. Then position the clutch pedal, (some people say it is easier to install the cable on this end before installing th pedal) insert the longer shaft through the clutch and brake pedal, and re-install the clip, shield, and fuse/relay block.
You keep the original ECM and disconnect the TCM. Keep me posted on your progress. There are lots of stuff I can't remember right off hand. But I got mine running tike a top. Went from 24 mpg with the sick auto to 36 mpg with the manual.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,006 Posts
Re: (ayton)

See if you can just swap out the pedal shaft. Will be alot easier than doing the whole cluster. I used the original starter from the auto. Worked with the manual tranny. Just needed to use the shorted starter bolts from the manual donor car. You could always cut the bolts and taper the end.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,006 Posts
Re: (Cyclopath)

You will also need the stamped metal plate off the manual car. It's 2 piece. Smaller piece comes off so the diff can pass by it during install.

installed

new pressure plate stretch bolts

release plate installed. Ready for the clutch and flywheel

Finishing touch. Light weight flywheel.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,006 Posts
Re: (ayton)

The only difference in the starers is the way they mount. Newer auto has a square looking bracket. Both mine was round. Hooked up physically and electrically the same. Like I said, had to use the 2 shorter mounting bolts because the manual bell housing is not as thick as the auto. I've heard of other people having problems, but I didn't have any. I went from a 96 auto to a 95 manual. So the motor mounts, tranny mount, and front motor mount bracked all hooked up perfectly.
Plate was kind of expensive. I gave away the motor in the donor, so I had to buy the plates, pressure plate, flywheel, and a clutch kit. See if you can pull one from a bone yard. I payed almost 80 bucks for the plates.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,006 Posts
Re: (ayton)

I had to drop the sub frame to get the auto out. Disconnect the top of the ball joint from the steering knuckle. 4 bolts to undo the steering rack. Rear motor mount and tranny mount. 6 bolts to the sub frame and the whole thing falls out. You got the 12 point allen to remove the axle bolts? Bought a 4 piece set 6mm, 8mm, 10mm, & 12mm for 8 bucks. You only need the 8mm.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,006 Posts
Re: (Cyclopath)

Just thought of another snag for you. The A2 axles will not work in a A3. They are 1/2" too short on each side. You might have to use them as cores to buy remanufactured. They are normally under 60 bucks each.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
284 Posts
Re: auto to manual swap questions (ayton)

I hope you don't mind me asking questions as I'm doing the same thing on a 95 Golf right now. You said that you acquired a shifter box, is it from an A3 or an A2? The reason I'm asking is that I have an A2 shifter box, but it is a tad wider at the base where it bolts to the 2 holes in the rear of the box. I could trim the base and slot the mounting hole to make it fit.
The other thing is how to mount the front part of the shifter box as the automatic shifter has a single bolt coming out from the top of the shifter box that goes through a hole on the top of the tunnel and is fixed by a nut. I hope i explained myself clearly. Is the A3 manual shifter box mounted the same as the A3 auto shifter box?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Re: (Cyclopath)

I just finished mounting everything mechanically up And tried to start mine which is a 97 jetta that had a auto tranny in it. It didnt start? Disconected the tcm also. Did you have to wire in the clutch pedal switch? Another thing is i bought this from a kid that started to take the auto out so I couldnt hear it run. With the key in the run position I used my remote starter and it fired up sounded good and checked all gears to make sure everything was ok which it was and was able to shut it off with the key. Got to looking around at all the wires and noticed a bunch of wires cut. They were from the anti theft module. About 3/4 were cut. Anyway to bypass this to see if this is part of the problem? Please help Oh ya my auto starter works great with this swap. John
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,036 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
Re: auto to manual swap questions (noypiesky)

Quote, originally posted by noypiesky »
I hope you don't mind me asking questions as I'm doing the same thing on a 95 Golf right now. You said that you acquired a shifter box, is it from an A3 or an A2? The reason I'm asking is that I have an A2 shifter box, but it is a tad wider at the base where it bolts to the 2 holes in the rear of the box. I could trim the base and slot the mounting hole to make it fit.
The other thing is how to mount the front part of the shifter box as the automatic shifter has a single bolt coming out from the top of the shifter box that goes through a hole on the top of the tunnel and is fixed by a nut. I hope i explained myself clearly. Is the A3 manual shifter box mounted the same as the A3 auto shifter box?

not at all: thats how we all learn!
anyway I got a manual shifter box from an A2, I heard they mount slightly different but it can work. I figured if I had to make a bracket or two it wouldnt kill me to get that mounted its a simple enough assembly.
The mounting to the rack is the reason why I got the manual rack. I was told it had all of the correct mounting holes.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,006 Posts
Re: auto to manual swap questions (ayton)

To get mine to start, I cheated the park/neutral switch. Find the straight 6 pin plug that use to go to the auto transmission. Then jumper or short 1 to3 and 4 to 6. Doesn't matter which end you start in, it will be the same. Got mine done like that just temporarily. Need to figure out the back-up lights. The plug that fits the back-up switch on the manual tranny is not for the back-up lights.
From what I have heard, the A2 shifter assembly will not work on a A3. They say it is different in length. Let me know if it does work. I don't want to be putting bogus info out.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,006 Posts
Re: auto to manual swap questions (ayton)

Jumpered the wires and it started right up for me. Everyone was amazed.
Got it looking like it came from the factory as a manual. Trying to get the wife to clean it up alittle inside. Will replace the drivers knee pad and stuff after I do the back-up wiring. And I just bought a lower glove box.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,006 Posts
Re: auto to manual swap questions (ayton)

Quote, originally posted by ayton »
did you swap out your cluster?

Nope. Original cluster. There's nothing to swap except for the drivetrain. Original cluster, ECM, brake pedal, Throttle body, starter (in my case), motor mounts and brackets, tranny mount.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,006 Posts
Re: auto to manual swap questions (noypiesky)

I used whatever bolts were already with the manual axles. The joy of having a complete donor for parts. http://****************.com/smile/emthup.gif If needbe, they shouldn't cost that much from the stealership. I was considering buying new just for S&Gs. But I thought the auto bolts were longer.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
284 Posts
Re: auto to manual swap questions (ayton)

Quote, originally posted by ayton »
well after some snags with my daily, I finally dug into the car today I managed to remove "all" of the bolts for the tranny but, it didnt drop? I wonder if I missed something...I pulled a 19mm from the rear, the 2 starter bolts, another 19 from the top rear and the top tranny bracket bolt....did I miss something? help
I really dont want to drop the sub frame...that seems like the long way

If I remember it right, there are 2 19 mm bolts on top. one 19 mm bolt in the rear and the two starter bolts. To make it easier, I had to remove the entire transmission support arm, rotate the transmission upwards, and used a pry bar to pry the transmission from the engine. You did remember to remove the 3(?) torque converter bolts.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,006 Posts
Re: auto to manual swap questions (Cyclopath)

Speed Sensor plug: Pin 1 (yellow wire) goes to pin 65 on the TCM. Pin 2 (white wire) goes to pin 20 on the TCM. Find these two wires as they enter the firewall. Cut and splice into the wires coming out of Pin 4 and 5 (both black/blue wires) on relay 150. Should work. The Golf is with my son in Tennessee and I am in Maine. So I can't try this myself.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
875 Posts
Re: auto to manual swap questions (ayton)

did you figure out whitch was the reverse lights on the auto to make it work with the 5 speed
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,036 Posts
Discussion Starter · #19 ·
Re: auto to manual swap questions (Skot53)

its called an engine support...I used my engine hoist and some rachet tie downs to raise and lower the motor.
good deal on the speed sensor...I should have been a bit more frugal but I got the car cheap enough so whatever
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,036 Posts
Discussion Starter · #20 ·
Re: auto to manual swap questions (ayton)

Small update:
I put in all the sensors today on the "motor side" of things.
I put the reverse switch in place and put the speed sensor in.
A quick note on the mk3 speed sensor; the metal mounting bracket that comes on it has a downward curve that would not allow it to sit flat against the tranny.
I took it off and flipped it over so the curve pointed up (with a little prying from a flat screwdriver) BE VERY CAREFUL IF YOU HAVE TO DO THIS! If you dont watch your hand you can snap the plastic speedo gear. I did mine fine. just a word of caution.
had to grind the corner of the bracket a bit for reinstallation on the speedo; just enough to round off one of the corners.
If you ever attempt to do this you will see what I mean.
I also changed the coolant flange today and re routing the coolant hoses was simple.
It looked harder than it was, I didnt have to buy anything special either.
I had a length of 3/4 in hose and I used about 16-18 inches to tie the coolant bottle back into the coolant pipe coming from the heater core.
DONE.
It looks very clean and since it was roll bought hose it had some curve already in it...no kinks or sharp bends to worry about.
This weekend I put in the pedal cluster, shift linkage and shift cable.
Sorry I'm so slow at this guys but its more of a self tutorial side project not a definative need to finish now mode of transportation.
tune in for the next installment


Modified by ayton at 6:47 PM 4-14-2006


Modified by ayton at 12:38 PM 4-17-2006
 
1 - 20 of 142 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top