VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
307 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I used to be a VW driver up until 3 years ago when I sold my mkIV. I'm looking to be an owner again, but I am interested in an older diesel. I would plan on DD it, and I would put the money into it to make it road worthy.

I was really looking to see if these diesel engines were pretty reliable, or if they are a pain to keep on the road, and if the common issues are cheap and easy fixes, or if they were expensive and time consuming. I also wanted to know how cold it can get before they have running or gelling issues

I tried doing some searching and I couldn't seem to find a thread that would help, so if there's a link to a good thread, post it up.

Any info is appreciated!

·
Registered
9,016 Posts
You also will want to read a lot over at vwdiesel.net. Its THE resource for the old IDI diesels. Plenty of people run these cars as DDs. And if you are running straight diesel, you shouldn't have issues with gelling...where it would get cold enough for that, there are the right additives in the fuel you buy.

·
Registered
307 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
thanks guys. One more step closer to getting a caddy! If I were to look into a caddy, where do they normally rust the most at? And If I were to get an NA engine, can you just throw a turbo and intercooler on them or is that just a pipe dream?

·
Registered
6,654 Posts
Biggest problems I've found on diesel MKI's are horrible previous owners. Cheap old guys like to rig wiring, and cheap out on every fix. Just my personal experiences though. Rust at the strut towers. You can turbo an NA - its best to go with a mid 81 + 12MM head bolt motor. They hold head gaskets better than the 11mm HB motors.

·
Registered
9,016 Posts