VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys.
i currently drive a 2001 Honda Accord V6 Coupe. i really like the looks of the 2002 jettas and i really want a 5speed. so im thinking about giving my sister the accord and getting a new jetta 1.8t base model with no options. i guess i just need your honest opinion about the car and about vw in general. im going to be going half way across the country to college next year and i need a car that is extremely reliable. i posted a similar post to this on superhonda.com and got one reply that didnt make me too happy, im hoping that guy just had a rare experience seeing that all of that stuff happening to any car would seem odd.
thanks guys, i know im a newbie but if things go well then i may be here to stay. i know nothing about vw's so ill go ahead and admit it

thanks guys

·
Registered
2017 Golf Wagon 4motion Highline
19,963 Posts
Re: 1.8T GLS Jetta Questions? (1.8 Turbo)

You might want to post this message in the Golf IV & Jetta IV forum as well.
First off, being a Honda owner, you're going to find VW quality a little lacking in comparison.
I've owned a 2000 Jetta GLS VR6 and currently have a 2002 Jetta GLS 1.8T. My VR6 required 2 warranty repairs: A faulty #6 fuel injector and a faulty coolant temperature sensor. My 2002 Jetta has had one warranty repair: a faulty #1 cylinder coil pack.
All in all, my Jetta are the best built VW's with the fewest warranty repairs I've ever owned. The first 2 new VW's I bought were 1992 and 1993 Passats and those cars were warranty repair nightmares. Still, I loved both those cars. The enjoyment I get from driving my VW makes it easier to put up with the occaisional problem.

·
Registered
14,856 Posts

generally speaking, i don't think most vw's have serious mechanical problems but they can be a pita with the little things.