VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
  • Mwerks and Fourtitude have rejoined VWVortex. For more info, see this thread.

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
2017 Passat SEL Premium
207 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Is there anybody that lives in Massachusetts that can install a traction control button for my 17 SEL. I will pay $100 and lunch or beer.

Thank you

·
Registered
111 Posts
only thing stopping you from a DIY is VCDS long coding, installing the button is pretty easy with a you tube video

·
Registered
2017 Passat SEL Premium
207 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
It’s possible though, correct? I need help with all of it. I’m not good at running wires through my firewall and messing with the abs module.

·
Registered
111 Posts
yeah I installed the traction control button myself, with a little help from a friend recently. getting the wire through the fire wall is kind of a pain but it wasn't impossible you just need a long, sturdy, and thin piece of metal to push it through. i got my button kit from ecs and it fit fine and looks oem.

·
Registered
2017 Passat SEL Premium
207 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
It’s absolutely necessary on this car. I can’t take it anymore. I have a stage 1 tune and it drives me crazy every time it kicks on. Never mind when it snows. I can’t understand why they don’t have the button installed from the factory. Sometimes I feel people that develop the cars are idiots.

·
Registered
2017 VW Passat SEL Premium
911 Posts
Keep in mind the ECS button will not fit/match the 2016-2018 (possibly 2019) Passat due to trim piece change.

·
Registered
2017 Passat SEL Premium
207 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I don’t care if I need to use a generic black button that I can retrofit somewhere. As long as the usp Motorsport button works on my car I am fine with that.

That button will work on a 17 SEL, correct? I read through all the posts and It seems that some people say it will not work on a 17 SEL unless I am reading it incorrectly.

·
Registered