VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner

2021 Golf R Specs

72K views 260 replies 82 participants last post by  MMeachGLI 
#1 ·
In November, the owner of my Ontario, Canada VW dealership was in Chattanooga to see the 2021 Golf R.
No pictures, as their cell phones were confiscated
These were his notes:
-the car will be a model year 2021
-now comes with a sunroof
-full LED emblem and light strip in front bumper
-limited slip differential with drift mode option
-full digital cockpit
-300+ horse power
-19" wheels
-built in Germany

My background:
I've been driving GTI's since 1984, all my VW's purchased from the same dealer.
I've had 3 Golf R's. The first one was a 2012 Rising Blue, now driving a 2019 Indium, all 6MT.
The 2019 is the best, the 2016 the worst.
Oh, and I'm 74.

#231 ·
In Canada, my dealer will be ordering their first batch Mk8 Golf R's on Monday June 7th.
Delivery in November.
For everyone's information, the 6M will have 15 ft-lbs of torque less than the DSG.
That makes me happy.
The Mk8 will be coming with pretty well everything you'd want.
If you've been following this thread, you know I'm usually right.

#238 ·
In Canada, my dealer will be ordering their first batch Mk8 Golf R's on Monday June 7th.
Delivery in November.
For everyone's information, the 6M will have 15 ft-lbs of torque less than the DSG.
That makes me happy.
The Mk8 will be coming with pretty well everything you'd want.
If you've been following this thread, you know I'm usually right.
Have not heard anything about official order books opened, and the first year is allocation per dealer, is he actually taking deposits? I have heard nothing from my dealer, other than extending my lease, even nothing on pricing, I would be skeptical of placing an order right now when there is no information, and also 100% get in writing you will be receiving a car.

#141 ·
2021 Golf R Specs Confirmed