VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner

2021 Golf R Specs

72K views 260 replies 82 participants last post by  MMeachGLI 
#1 ·
In November, the owner of my Ontario, Canada VW dealership was in Chattanooga to see the 2021 Golf R.
No pictures, as their cell phones were confiscated
These were his notes:
-the car will be a model year 2021
-now comes with a sunroof
-full LED emblem and light strip in front bumper
-limited slip differential with drift mode option
-full digital cockpit
-300+ horse power
-19" wheels
-built in Germany

My background:
I've been driving GTI's since 1984, all my VW's purchased from the same dealer.
I've had 3 Golf R's. The first one was a 2012 Rising Blue, now driving a 2019 Indium, all 6MT.
The 2019 is the best, the 2016 the worst.
Oh, and I'm 74.

#8 ·
Despite all of the DSG humpers around here, I'd say it's very likely that it will still have a manual option.

The R is a crossover model from other cars like the Civic Type R and STI, both of which are exclusively manual. VWoA has also stated that the take rate on the GTI/R combo is as high as 44%, and even higher on the R than the GTI. I find it unlikely that they'd alienate all of those potential buyers.

#4 ·
I like the sunroof - but can live without it
I like the limited slip diff - easily fixed with the Wavetrac

The drift mode is interesting to hear how this is accomplished, more aggressive Haldex? With the diff, is it possibly an electronic diff that lets the front wheels carry no power if it wants? That would be the biggest thing to get me out of the MK7.5

I'm not sure if anything else changes my decision to stick with a 2018 though.

#9 ·
All indications are that the GTI will be a late 2021 model. I doubt that VWoA will put out the GTI and Golf R at the same time. I hope your 2021 model year info is correct. For the life of me I can't understand why the North American market is still behind Europe by as much as 2 years with new model introductions.