VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Everyone,
This is my first time here. I hope someone can help me with my question on tires.
I just replaced some stock 195/65R15 Michelin tires that came with my 2000 Jetta GL. The place I bought the tires said 205/55R15 size would work. Anyone know if this is an allowable size? I am beginning to think that perhaps they steered me wrong and I am not so sure now that I can use this size without going to 16 inch wheels.
These are Toyo FZ4 tires. Thanks for any help you can give.
Mike

·
Banned
7,292 Posts
Re: 205/55R15 Tires on 2000 Jetta GL? Possible? (mbliemel)

Using this size tire (55 series) will will result in your speedometer/odometer to be slow by about 3%....
So if it says you are going 100mph, you'll actually be traveling at 97mph. If your odometer says you've gone 100miles, you will have actually gone 97 miles.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Re: 205/55R15 Tires on 2000 Jetta GL? Possible? (TabulaRasa)

Thanks TR for the reply. Would I be better off taking them back and going back to the tire size I had before? I mean I really want to have an accurate reading of the odometer and not be off by about 3% all the time. The tires also look kind of small in the rear well, whereas before they seemed to fill it out more. I am just a regular driver, so excuse my ignorance on these matters. Just looking for some advice and this is obviously a place with knowledgeable people when it comes to cars and VWs. Thanks again for your help.
Oh yeah, the guy that sold me the tires said I could return them if I was not happy with them within 3000 miles. I kind of think he was really trying to push the Toyo brand on me. In hindsight, I wish I had just left right then. I was going to go with Michelins again actually, but you know those salesmen and the price was right.

·
Banned
8,990 Posts
Re: 205/55R15 Tires on 2000 Jetta GL? Possible? (mbliemel)