VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
173 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Guys, I've been working on this for a few weeks now and about to pull my hair out. This symptom began with the installation of my 3" exhaust. Here's what happens.

With the rear O2 sensor plugged straight into the bung, I get Bank 1: 02 (Lambda) correction behind catalyst: Control Limit Reached. P1176 - 001 - Upper Limit Exceeded

Car runs generally okay but I get kind of a loping idle on a 4-5 second interval and it's moderately hard to start when warm. Takes 5-8 seconds of cranking with throttle depressed about halfway before it'll finally fire up. Starts fine when cold.

Next I started playing with spark plug non-foulers, after reading other posts and figuring if I'm flooding out due to these 2nd O2 sensor errors then the logical way to fix it must be to space the O2 farther away from the exhaust flow like everyone else has. I have now played around with distancing the O2 sensor anywhere from about .5" to 1.75" farther away from the bung with various combinations of welded on nuts, screwed in non-foulers, etc. With ANY distance of spacing I get the following VAG-COM and symptom:

Catalyst System; Bank 1: Efficiency below threshold P0420 - 002 - Lower Limit Exceeded

The car becomes VERY hard to start warm when left for anywhere from 3 minutes on up to 25-30 minutes. Almost every time I have to unplug the injectors, crank it for 20-30 seconds to clear the cylinders, plug the injectors back in, and then it'll start again using the throttle-half-depressed method.

Using both setups (O2 through non-foulers or screwed straight into the bung) the car has died without warning a couple times while idling.

My complete setup is this:
K04
GIAC software
2 1/2" FMIC
3" MAF
380cc injectors
tt BOV
custom 3" turbo-back exhaust w/flowmaster cat