VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
1,709 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ok, so i just got my new turbo and installed everything correctlly, im new to the whole big turbo upgrades but what im runnin is a gt3076r hks ssqv tial 38mm wastegate and a greddy profec b2 mbc. currentlly im running on a 93octane giac program untill i get all the querks worked out. first question, my wastegate is just running off a dump tube and its open at idle, is it supposed to be open at idle and why? 2nd when i start to take off the car sounds like a POS car with a huge exhaust leak is this normal because its atmospheric dump? 3rd boost hits at 5psi at 2500rpm-4000rpm then instantly spikes and holds at 10psi and drops off around 5700rpm i dont see why it keeps droping because a 3076 should have no problem holding 10psi. 4th could the boost just not be holding due to not having my 630cc's, fuel pump, adj. fpr and tuning? the wastegate is hooked up with the com port on the mbc going to the top port on the tial and the side port tee'd into the line wich hooks the NC port on the mbc to the turbo outlet/intercooler pipe
thanks guys! any help will be greatly appriciated i cant wait to get this thing tuned and working up to its full potential!

p.s. yes i am getting new piston's rings rods crank and cams before the tuning http://****************.com/smile/emthup.gif

·
Registered
4,414 Posts
Re: 3076r with tial 38mm wastegate... got some questions.. please help!! (volkswagendude01)

Sounds like the hoses connecting the wastegate are backwards. Have you tried just running off wastegate spring alone rather than using the boost controller? It sounds like your boost controller is opening the gate way too early.
Second thing is you REALLY need to keep an eye on injector duty cycle and air fuel ratio, you're going into this blind and hoping 10psi is okay (which it should be), but you need to log everything.

·
Registered
6,203 Posts