VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,230 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im involved in that whole Eclipse sub mess over in the audio classifieds. I bought the speaker thinking it was a 4ohm sub. Now I found out its 6 ohm. Does anyone even make a 6 ohm amp. How do I go about powering a 6 ohm sub? Am I looking at buying another speaker or two inorder to get this to work?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
132 Posts
Re: 6 0hm sub??? (Johnny Blaze)

I've got three DVC 6 ohm subs wired together to present a 4 ohm load to my amp (currently missing
). Thats the only way I've heard to do it. Good luck guys.
edit: DVC


[Modified by J_Blaze, 8:18 PM 8-8-2002]
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,084 Posts
Re: 6 0hm sub??? (J_Blaze)

quote:[HR][/HR]I've got three SVC 6 ohm subs wired together to present a 4 ohm load to my amp (currently missing
). Thats the only way I've heard to do it. Good luck guys.[HR][/HR]​
Three 6 Ohm Single Voice Coil subs wired in parallel will yeild an impedance of 2 ohms, not 4 ohms.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,230 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Re: 6 0hm sub??? (J_Blaze)

So lets just say for now that I buy a second sub. Can I wire it so its than a 3 ohm load. The sub has a continuous power handling of 500W at 4ohms. What type of amp would I be looking at to power 2 subs at 3 ohms?


[Modified by FlashRedSLC, 8:16 AM 8-9-2002]
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,084 Posts
Re: 6 0hm sub??? (FlashRedSLC)

quote:[HR][/HR]So lets just say for now that I buy a second sub. Can I wire it so its than a 3 ohm load. The sub has a continuous power handling of 500W at 4ohms. What type of amp would I be looking at to power 2 subs at 3 ohms?

[Modified by FlashRedSLC, 8:16 AM 8-9-2002][HR][/HR]​
Anything 2 ohm stable should work fine.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,443 Posts
Re: 6 0hm sub??? (4DR Assassin)

dood.. these are your options.. they are DVC aren't they? I am pretty sure they are since I have only worked with the newer models out.. (I currently own them) the setup I am showing is for a MONO load only.. so go find yourself a decent 2ohm stable amp.. with decent amount of power.. and you should be alright..
1 sub: series-parallel will yield 12 ohms
parallel will yield a 3ohm load
2 sub: series-parallel will yield a 6ohm load
parallel will yield a 1.5ohm load
3 sub: series-parallel will yield a 4ohm load
parallel will yield a 1ohm load
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
13,385 Posts
Re: 6 0hm sub??? (Johnny Blaze)

Why not just use the Eclipse web site, instead of freeyellow mediling in the site.

http://www.eclipse-web.com/
Wow Six Subs to get a 4 Ohm mono load?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
73 Posts
Re: 6 0hm sub??? (Non_Affiliated)

Okay this may sound really too simple, but why not just power your 6 ohm sub with whatever ya got?!
Seriously. Six ohms is not far enough away from 8 to make a diff to an amp that can't do 4 or 2 ohms... and of course, if your amp already is stable at 4 or two ohms, you can drive the 6 ohm speaker with it and not have any problems.
The rule is that you can always drive a higher impedance than your amp is rated for, but if you go too much lower, you risk frying something.
Hmm let me qualify that... the above rule applies only to solid state amps... tube amps are different in this regard, but who runs tubes in their auto?
Just hook it up. It'll work peachy. Honest
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
116 Posts
Re: 6 0hm sub??? (bgracey)

quote:[HR][/HR]Okay this may sound really too simple, but why not just power your 6 ohm sub with whatever ya got?!
Seriously. Six ohms is not far enough away from 8 to make a diff to an amp that can't do 4 or 2 ohms... and of course, if your amp already is stable at 4 or two ohms, you can drive the 6 ohm speaker with it and not have any problems.
The rule is that you can always drive a higher impedance than your amp is rated for, but if you go too much lower, you risk frying something.
Hmm let me qualify that... the above rule applies only to solid state amps... tube amps are different in this regard, but who runs tubes in their auto?
Just hook it up. It'll work peachy. Honest
[HR][/HR]​
true. you won't get anymore power or anything, and quality won't be that of a 6ohm load, but it will work fine without any risks.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,399 Posts
Re: 6 0hm sub??? (Johnny Blaze)

yor amp should be fine with a 6ohm sub. if it is a quality amp, then wire it to 3ohms (if it is a dvc). put a jl 500/1 on that bad boy!
and FYI==> http://www.eclipse-car.com is actually written by one of eclipse top R&D Engineers. they are proud of his site and tell retail employees to visit for any rel questions they have. it is very informative.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
73 Posts
Re: 6 0hm sub??? (illstyle)

quote:[HR][/HR]Okay this may sound really too simple, but why not just power your 6 ohm sub with whatever ya got?!
........
true. you won't get anymore power or anything, and quality won't be that of a 6ohm load, but it will work fine without any risks.[HR][/HR]​
The impedane rating of the speaker versus that of the amp has not one thing to do with the quality of the sound that will be reproduced by either or both. Why would it?
I don't pretend to know what the impedance of the amps are that everyone is using, but let me assure you that the amp you are using (doesn't matter what it is) does NOT have the same output impedance as the speakers you are connecting to them.
If the amps had the exact impedance of the speakers they drive, literally half of the power the amp is supposedly producing would be lost in the output stage, when really what you want is for the speakers to be getting all that power!
In short, buy good stuff (amps and speakers) and hook them together and enjoy. Life is too short for complications
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,399 Posts
Re: 6 0hm sub??? (bgracey)

well, you are mostly right, but yes, it can affect the sound quality. Impedience is resistance. If you put more resistance on the amp then it was meant to see, then you will reduce the output of the sub. The power will be lost to resistance. (unless your amp has a regulated power supply like a JL amp...thats a different story). If i put an 8 ohm speaker on a Rockford bd1000, then the sub will be MUCH quieter than the guy who was smart enough to put his 2 ohm speaker on the amp, like it was designed to see. No, the 8 ohm sub probably will not sound like poop (as in blown or static-y), but it will be MUCh quieter. Some amps actaully do not like to see higher resistance than what they are designed to see.
sean



[Modified by veedubb8, 8:41 PM 8-17-2002]
 
1 - 20 of 21 Posts
Top