VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have an 81 dasher diesel wagon that only goes into reverse sometimes other time when you push down it doesn't move past first and i have to flintstone it back wondering what could cause this im a complete newbie when it comes to vw's just liked the car

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·

·
Registered
653 Posts
It is VERY possible that the problem is with the bushings that Quantum shared with you. However, it is also possible that it is the shifter stick itself. The ones pictured above are for the linkage that attach to the transmission, but the ball socket at the base of the shifter (vertical rod that your shift knob is attached to) can also go bad.
When I got my first Dasher, back in 1992/93 did not have 1st or Reverse. I went to a junkyard and got a VW Fox 4 speed shifter, and it solved the issue. I never did that lower stuff on that car.
So, I know that doesn't really help you, it just muddies the water.
But wanted you to keep it in mind if the above parts don't solve the issue.
Parts are getting VERY hard to find for these cars.

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
It is VERY possible that the problem is with the bushings that Quantum shared with you. However, it is also possible that it is the shifter stick itself. The ones pictured above are for the linkage that attach to the transmission, but the ball socket at the base of the shifter (vertical rod that your shift knob is attached to) can also go bad.
When I got my first Dasher, back in 1992/93 did not have 1st or Reverse. I went to a junkyard and got a VW Fox 4 speed shifter, and it solved the issue. I never did that lower stuff on that car.
So, I know that doesn't really help you, it just muddies the water.
But wanted you to keep it in mind if the above parts don't solve the issue.
Parts are getting VERY hard to find for these cars.