VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4,169 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
post em up, i'm new to the 8v scene, used to VRs but i want to see what kinda free/cheap tips and tricks can be done to the 8v to make it run better/more reliable/faster. lets hear em!

·
Registered
1,496 Posts
Re: 8v FREE tips and tricks (MidnightVR6)

there is a way to make/richen up the fuel mixture like the Fuel Enrichment Modules on the 1.8L 16V. I just dont/have never done that.
I make Short Throw shift kits....

·
Registered
37,606 Posts
Re: 8v FREE tips and tricks (aburchell44)

quote:[HR][/HR]there is a way to make/richen up the fuel mixture like the Fuel Enrichment Modules on the 1.8L 16V. I just dont/have never done that..[HR][/HR]​
Yes, on CIS you turn the 3mm hex screw in the fuel distributor clockwise. I don't suggest doing that unless you have a A/F gauge, dwell meter, or CO meter handy and know what you're doing.

·
Registered
10,505 Posts
Re: 8v FREE tips and tricks (Racer_X)

quote:[HR][/HR]There are so many 8V's. Which one do you have? What year, model, and what injection system?[HR][/HR]​
He's running a 90 digifant 8v coupe.

·
Registered
10,505 Posts

1st thing I'd do since ya just got it. (unless ya know derek/gary already did)
Wires, plugs, cap, rotor, timing, vac lines, check seals, injector o-rings( you need 8), oil(we did that).
Oh ya, you can do the cheesy ghetto mod and gut your airbox. I think it actually helps, but worse comes to worse, you'll have a nice deep throaty sound from the intake.

[Modified by HiJinx, 10:32 AM 1-23-2003]

·
Banned
6,423 Posts

My JH 8v mod tips- Not in order of performance or price , etc...
K&N, big bore intkae pipe, A2 TB, also use a bolt/nut btw. butterfly slide and ajust accordingly.

headers,larger pipes/exhaust
bosch standard plugs, larger wires, MSD 2 coil, cap/rotor
vacuum lines, basic maintenance, etc 20/w50 all the time, only VW filter
low temps
HD mounts- huge difference. no more lost power