VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

· Registered
2,094 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I purchased my 87 GTI 16V back in 2000 when I graduated high school. My mom wanted to give me her 94 V6 Camaro but I had other plans. I told her I wanted the 87 Golf GL I had been driving so that I could buy an 87 GTI and fix it up nice. I wanted to learn about how it worked and rebuild it. I also wanted to make a VW fast and nice looking. There were 2 reasons to motivate me to do this.
1) When my mom went into labor with me she was rushed to the hospital in a baby crap brown 1977 automatic VW Rabbit pegged at 92 mph. 3 days after I was born she was again rushed to the hospital due to complications and she almost died. So a VW helped saved my moms life
http://****************.com/smile/emthup.gif
2) At high school everyone made fun of my hand me down 170K mile golf gl because they all drove Mercedez and very high end cars. My POS VW golf with 3 hub caps looked awesome parked next to a BMW Z3 that some 16 year old kid just got for his birthday present.... That still makes me want to wretch! Talk about spoiled! I wanted to make a VW fast and nice looking just to spite them... and because I thought nobody did that to VW's. Ha! boy was I ignorant...
So I picked up the 87 GTI for $1800 too much and began toying. At the time I barely knew how to check my oil... but it came with the Bentley manual and I knew how to read so I figured I was set. As of now I have touched every bolt on the damn thing except the AC blower motor.
Mods that I have done-
-rebuilt and installed 2.0L bottom end, 2.0L P&P head
-shaved the head .030 <- I dont recommend that! For it to run right it needs race gas and thats expensive for a daily driver... however the power gain is very acceptable! But the increase in blowby and gas expense is just not practical.
-Installed hydraulic clutch cable shift O2J tranny coded CZM. Close ration and 4.25 final drive! Great for autocross!