VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
5,279 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
All,

I feel like i have exhausted all of my efforts. I cannot get my car to stop developing air bubbles in my passenger rear brake. I have a mopar master that is split with two lines: front and back. I can bleed the system and all is fine. I have great brake pressure, but after couple days, I loose all of it.

Now during the bleed process, my front brakes and my driver rear are just fine, no air in them, its always that my rear passenger gets a lot of air. I have re-bled my brakes over 5 times now and I even replaced the master thinking it was bad, but no luck.

Is it possible that I can get air into the brake without seeing a leak somewhere, as the entire brake system is dry.

·
Registered
8,378 Posts
You could be sucking in air at the rear cylinders. You could be leaking brake fluid inside the booster. I've never seen air introduced to the hydraulic system by the booster.

·
Registered
5,279 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
I haven't even thought about the cylinders they are after all 41 years old. I removed the drum and had Noosh apply brake pressure.

1st press, only left side moved as seen in picture
2nd press, brake fluid shot out 6 feet, after only left side of cylinder moved again

Now my question is did this happen because the cylinder is bad or because i removed the drum

·
Registered
5,279 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
So after further inspection, I noticed that the pushrod was not centered properly. Green Arrow shows the little notch where it needs to sit but its sitting much lower. After I snapped this into place, i noticed that the right shoe became more lose. I was able to manipulate both sides a bit easier.

the red arrows show how I belive this caused the left shoe to push out and right shoe would not budge, hence the cylinder opening on one side and spitting brake fluid.