VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
69 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I can’t seem to figure out what’s going on with my display unit in my Alltrack but the offroad display doesn’t exist on my car. I have a 2018 Alltrack SE. Brand new with less than 4K mi on it.

Is this offroad telemetry display only available on the SEL trim ?

Is there a way to get it on other trim levels?!

Here’s the system version I have on my car currently.

Device part number - 3Q0035844B
Hardware - 722
Software - 0867
Media Codec - 1.2.0

Am I missing something?!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
36 Posts
My 2017 SE is also missing this info. I really would have liked to have that info when I drove to Pikes Peak. I plan to ask the dealer about it at the first service.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
750 Posts
You can activate it with odb11 or vdcs, I added it to my R because I wanted a screen that showed oil and water temp at the same time. There could however be some prerequisite that might prevent this from working on your car, such as requiring factory GPS.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
69 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
That’s a shame. You’d think they’d include that across all 4Motion models.

Can anyone confirm the vag com code to adjust this in the SE models?

I’m finding some mixed results across the web.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
36 Posts
It's not missing. It's only available on the SEL.
Well that's just stupid, but it does sound like something VW would do. I do have OBD11, hopefully someone can figure out how to code it to work with the SE.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
14,339 Posts
I wonder if this is another lost feature on the '18s. I test drove two different 2017 S's and an SE that had it. I know on the pre facelift cars the satellite radio antenna doubled as GPS for US market cars.

Interested in how to enable this in VCDS in my GSW 4motion.
me too. Anyone?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
750 Posts
Select Control Unit 5F (Information Electrical)
Security Access 31347 or 20103
Adaptions
Change – (81) Car_Function_Adaptations_Gen2-menu_display_compass to Active
Change – (83) Car_Function_Adaptations_Gen2-menu_display_compass_over_threshold_high to Active
Change – (41) Car_Function_List_BAP_Gen2-compass_0x15 to Active
Restart the MIB Headunit (Hold the Power button for >10 Seconds)

Might or might not work without factory navi
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
236 Posts
I wonder if this is another lost feature on the '18s. I test drove two different 2017 S's and an SE that had it. I know on the pre facelift cars the satellite radio antenna doubled as GPS for US market cars.

Interested in how to enable this in VCDS in my GSW 4motion.

Works just fine on my '18 GSW (not AT), but as others have said, you must have navigation for it to work. I used OBD11 to enable it.


Off Road Info
by AWD WAGON, on Flickr
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
462 Posts
I wonder if this is another lost feature on the '18s. I test drove two different 2017 S's and an SE that had it. I know on the pre facelift cars the satellite radio antenna doubled as GPS for US market cars.

Interested in how to enable this in VCDS in my GSW 4motion.
This feature was only available in '17 on the SEL. The S and SE do not have Nav. Not sure what you saw, but no S or SE should have had it from the factory.

It has always seemed silly to me that the ALLTRACK, specifically intended for (pretend) offroad use, doesn't come with the Offroad Monitor on every trim level, even if the elevation field doesn't populate.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
25,356 Posts
This feature was only available in '17 on the SEL. The S and SE do not have Nav. Not sure what you saw, but no S or SE should have had it from the factory.

It has always seemed silly to me that the ALLTRACK, specifically intended for (pretend) offroad use, doesn't come with the Offroad Monitor on every trim level, even if the elevation field doesn't populate.
It does great offroad (no pretend)... but it's a car and I think you are talking about rock crawlin' and stuff when you say offroad, but never really clarified anything.

Confirmed, you need a NAV unit for the features.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
69 Posts
Discussion Starter #19
Select Control Unit 5F (Information Electrical)
Security Access 31347 or 20103
Adaptions
Change – (81) Car_Function_Adaptations_Gen2-menu_display_compass to Active
Change – (83) Car_Function_Adaptations_Gen2-menu_display_compass_over_threshold_high to Active
Change – (41) Car_Function_List_BAP_Gen2-compass_0x15 to Active
Restart the MIB Headunit (Hold the Power button for >10 Seconds)

Might or might not work without factory navi
Thanks. Looking forward to trying this out.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,825 Posts
Number of times the information would be useful have been around zero it feels kinda like a gimmick feature hasn't me wanting for the NAV system. A few have reported less than stellar with reliabilty issues and freezing of the Nav systems.

Heck its only money i'm sure you could find an MBI 2 system and get that feature.

Also what about coding the "Performance monitors" of the R into the Alltrack, boost would be more enjoyable to watch than oil temp.
 
1 - 20 of 44 Posts
Top