VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
5,797 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Few months ago I had starter issues on my 90 golf. I put in a ford solenoid 30 amp and the car worked great ever since. Last night the car is dead in the water at the inlaws. My girl says all she hears is a clicking noise coming from the starter. I believe it might be time for a rebuild so I need to take it out. I can't find a " how to R&R". Anyone have experience with this task??

Modified by Jeramiah at 5:24 PM 1-13-2008

·
Registered
1,719 Posts
From what I've heard, it's a bitch. It's near the exhaust manifold, good luck.
I've no experience with this myself, so I can't give too much more info, sorry.

·
Registered
1,103 Posts
Re: (Jaceb-GT)

you didn't drive it to national and have them handle it last fall when you were asking me? i thought you did....bump anyhoo

·
Registered
2,635 Posts
Re: Anyone with a DIY for MK2 auto starter R&R ????????? (Jeramiah)

Taking out the start on an automatic Mk2 is a pain in the ass.
It's located behind the engine block and underneath the exhaust manifold. You're going to have to remove the passenger side CV joint to gain access. If you have the ballast weight block that sticks out in front of the K frame then it'll also limit you from taking the starter out.
IIRC, there maybe a heatshield between the CV joint and the starter assembly. If there is one, you're going to remove that. It's held in by 3 bolts on the back of the block.

·
Registered
2,118 Posts
Re: Anyone with a DIY for MK2 auto starter R&R ????????? (Mk2 SAiNT)

i had the same issue i ended up buying a new starter and alls it was was a bad ground on the starter... this happend at waterfest

·
Registered
5,797 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Re: Anyone with a DIY for MK2 auto starter R&R ????????? (Mk2 SAiNT)

Quote, originally posted by Mk2 SAiNT »
Taking out the start on an automatic Mk2 is a pain in the ass.