Dodge is. MY 2020 Grand Caravan and the Journey cannot be registered in the 13 states that have California emissions laws.
Im pretty certain its the last 4spd auto in the US. But really I'm SHOCKED they are still selling that.The Journey is only available with the 4-cylinder/4-speed-automatic configuration for 2020. :laugh:
173 hp, 19 city / 25 highway.
With the non-Mazda Toyota Yaris Liftback gone for 2020, is this the last car you can buy with a 4-speed automatic?
If it's a car with 7,500 miles or more or you fit into some exemptions (moving from another state, etc.), you're fine. Also, PZEV gets you some crazy CA warranties on "emissions" components (which includes a metric ****-ton of stuff) for 15 years or 150k miles, so owning a PZEV car is a huge benefit here.So what happens if you have one of these cars and move to CA, and eventually they try to force you to register your car there because your neighbors are snitches?
With my old modified STI; it was easy to just register to an out of state LLC and you can’t be forced to pretty much buy the car from the LLC; but I don’t think the average citizen.. specially a journey or caravan owner would go through that.
DMV website said:Buying a Vehicle From Out of State - Can You Register It in California? (FFVR 29)
The Bottom Line
If you are a California resident and acquire a new car, truck, or motorcycle from another state, it must be certified to meet California smog laws to be registered in California. This includes certain diesel-powered vehicles. DMV cannot accept an application to register a vehicle in California that does not qualify for registration (California Health and Safety Code §§43150 - 43156).
What is Considered a New Vehicle?
California considers any vehicle with less than 7,500 miles on the odometer at the time of purchase or trade by a California resident or business, to be a new vehicle. This is true whether or not the vehicle has been registered in another state.
Aren't All Vehicles California Certified?
Not all new vehicles are manufactured to be sold in California. Many manufacturers make vehicles to be sold only in the other 49 states. These vehicles (49-state) are made with smog equipment that meets federal emission standards, but not California standards. California-certified (50-state) vehicles are made to be sold in California.
Check the Label
To find out whether a car, truck, or motorcycle is California certified, check the emission label under the hood. For a motorcycle, check the frame or refer to your owner' s manual for the location. The label should read that the vehicle conforms to California regulations, or that it is legal for sale in California.
There are a few exemptions to the law. As a California resident, you may be able to register a 49-state vehicle if it was:
- Obtained as part of a divorce, inheritance, or legal separation settlement.
- Purchased to replace your California-registered vehicle that was stolen while you were using the vehicle out-of-state.
- Purchased to replace your California-registered vehicle that was destroyed or made inoperative beyond reasonable repair while you were using the vehicle out of state.
- An emergency vehicle, pursuant to California Vehicle Code § §27156.2 and 27156.3.
- Registered by you in the state of your last active military service outside California.
- A street motorcycle or motor-driven cycle year model 2005 and older, with an engine less than 50 cubic centimeters (cc) displacement. Beginning January 1, 2006, street motorcycles and motor-driven cycles year model 2006 and newer, with engines less than 50 cc displacement, require an emission label certifying them to meet U.S. Environmental Protection Agency emission regulations, and may be registered regardless of mileage.
Does This Apply to Someone Moving to California?
If you are moving to California from another state, you may register a new 49-state vehicle if it was first registered by you in your home state, or for military personnel, in the last state of your military service. When applying for vehicle registration in California, you must provide evidence that the vehicle was registered.
Vehicles Purchased From Out of the Country (Grey Market)
California has special requirements for vehicles imported from other countries (including Canada and Mexico). It may be very costly or impossible to modify these vehicles to meet California emission requirements and/or federal motor vehicle safety standards (FMVSS). No direct import vehicle less than two years old can be converted to California emission standards. Not all direct import vehicles over two years old can be converted to California emission standards and FMVSS. No motorcycle or diesel-powered vehicle can be converted to California emission standards. For details, contact the California Air Resources Board (ARB).