VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 20 of 102 Posts

·
Registered
1,971 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Complete noob to air suspension and my first build. Purchased a two month old AirLift Performance suspension from a Vortex member "blackohio", very pleased with the purchase it's like new without paying the full retail price, thanks Corey! At 58 yrs old, never to old to play with cars. LOL

2015 Passat Highline TDI Platinum Gray , 18" wheels (looking at a set of 19" x 8" "Concave" - TSW Mirabeau wheels to replace these)

May 24-15

Got started today on the build, cut and assembled raised platform

Mocked up the air tank and compressor

Used 3/8"-16 tee nuts to mount the air tank

Mounted air compressor used acorn nut for a finished look

Fit tested the platform in the trunk

Tomorrow getting a piece of aluminum cut and bent to mount air management ECU and other components, mount the tank drain solenoid and bulkhead, carpet the raised platform. Tuesday getting the air tank hydrodipped and clear coated.

May 25-15

More progress today, installed trunk carpet on the raised platform, installed the tank drain solenoid

Stripped the split loom of the harness and installed flex loom, secured the compressor relay, installed terminal strip

Fabricated and installed grommet plate for main harness

Fabricated and installed grommet plate for compressor

Fabricated and installed the bulkhead plate these are to exit the raised platform and routed to the bags. They'll be another set of bulkhead on the top side for airline from the ECU to the upper bulkheads. Aluminum plate for mounting the ECU is being fabricated and bent today.

·
Registered
99 Posts
Thanks. It is my second VW, traded in a 2012 GTI. I have bought around 20 cars in my life and this is the first time I have ever bought two from the same maker in a row. So far been happy with the VW product.