VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All, Happy New year,

I'm looking to buy a replacement battery for my 2014 Jetta SE for when I need it. The battery is original from 2014 and still works perfect, but I figure its more than living on borrowed time. I figured I would buy a similar OEM battery from the dealer given that their prices are as good if not better than most 3rd party batteries in my area, and well if the OEM has lasted 8 years without signs of slowing why would I change it up.

The problem is when I went to the parts counter the guy told me I would need to take the battery out of my car and return it to him to sell me a new one. I'm still relatively new to DIY maintenance so my question is: is this standard procedure? Or was the parts counter guy just being difficult for some reason? My understanding was that the core charge exists to incentivize you to return the old battery at a later date. Just doesn't make sense to me to turn in a working battery even if its old.

The follow up question to this being how I should proceed if I need to buy third party. I've read up all about the coding/adaptation issue and have got myself the tools to do, and my understanding is that the main qualities you need to look for are getting a battery with the same battery technology and at least as many CCA as the one coming out. The only problem is I'm not sure how to get that information from the label on my battery:

Font Gas Asphalt Electronic device Motor vehicle

I'm not sure if I just dont know how to read it, but I've done all sorts of googling of the parts number, etc. and the best I've found is this page that lists both 280 and 330 CCA, but to my eye doesn't list what type of battery it is.

Actually, while writing this post I did something further reading, and I've read now that both 280A and 480A are both CCA, just with the different DIN/SAE standards, is this correct?