VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 20 of 146 Posts

·
Registered
402 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
A little about me: My name is Mike, I'm a 23 year old Finance major at Penn State. I've been lingering around the forums for a couple years and never really contributed anything about my own vehicle I merely just read up on things I didn't quite understand. Time for a change!

The Car: It's an 2001 180 Quattro TT. I purchased the vehicle after a late night cruise in my wrangler left me in the backseat of a parked car. I picked the car up bone stock with just under 90k on it in October of 2011. The mods came that same week, slowly but surely it will be a fun stage 2 daily.

The Wrangler:

It was time for boost. So a TT was in order.

When I brought her home:

I first picked up an air filter from Autozone, which has since been replaced, and fab'd a short ram intake together from pieces of a friends old set up. Fortunately I don't have pictures of this ugly set up.

I couldn't stand the look of the stock wheels. I wish I was fortunate enough to get the fat fives but this was not the case. So a change of color was in order.

Plasti-dipped my stock six spoke wheels:

and then the fun began:

2 Coils went. I was blessed enough that the previous owner never replaced them so I got them free from the dealership. I also fitted the car with some new NGK plugs.

I started having idling issues and did a visual scan of many of the hoses only to find a massive leak in the PCV system.

I ordered a whole new system from 034 motorsports;

Install was brainless and it adds a bit of silicone under the hood. Unfortunately the idling issue persisted. After some research I pin pointed it down to one thing. The throttle body, and man was mine hideous.

I cleaned it up using carb cleaner and miraculously my idle went back to normal. But I got bored that same day and decided to do a little baking.

And installed: