VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
677 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Last night I installed my BMC CDA and NGP hardpipe. For those unfamiliar with the aforementioned products, the BMC CDA is a replacement intake that consists of a large filter contained in a carbon fiber body. The New German Performance hardpipe is a tubular metal intake pipe meant to be used in conjunction with the BMC CDA.
The install was pretty straight-forward except that I couldn't figure out how to get the battery out. After I got it out, I took VR6Kid's advice and removed the headlight access panel for further ease. I'm very anal when it comes to modding my cars. I keep all the stock parts and try not to destroy anything. So when I found out that the NGP hardpipe wanted to take up the same space as another part behind the headlight, I studied it closely because after talking to another Vortex'r about this project and reading about how they cut the part I wanted to make sure there wasn't another way. So...for those doing this same procedure, you will need to remove a useless part from behind the headlight. It is the part that the original intake pipe snaps to. It is attached to the rear of the headlight area with three fasteners. They are the kind that have the center that you have to push out to release the tension. Two are easy to get to, the third has to be accessed by reaching up from underneath the front bumper. The piece the easily comes out and the hardpipe now has a nice area to rest in.
For those who dis' the BMC for no sound evidently have never seen/heard one with a hard intake pipe instead of the dryer hose. It has a nice but odd intake sound. Maybe because I'm new to the 1.8T, but it sounds like a cross between a dentist's drill and a hairdryer and there is a very noticable DV sound. I have already gotten quite a few "what the hell is that?" looks from pedestrians and they really look confused when they see my wagon