1 - 20 of 113 Posts

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
From the 2004-Prius Yahoo Users Site:
Date: Wed, 17 Dec 2003 04:26:35 -0000
Subject: Another 2004 BC review, Boston
I picked up my driftwood BC Nov-22. (yes it was actually my 1st choice, tan interior is really attractive) Coming from a 2000 Diesel golf (calculated 47 MPG life-time, 70K miles). The 5spd golf had similar sensitivities to cold temps to what I see reported on prius-~7% lower MPG in winter). My commute is 120 miles/day (Ipswich to Southborough) that includes the infamous rt 128, a stop&go highway
that en-circles Boston MA. I'm a non-pioneer who put $500 deposit back in august site unseen, motivated mostly by the excitement/content on this web-site. I've been driving manuals since 1986.
So many "wow" factors. The blue digital speedometer is projected/magnified in an area just under the windshield and appears to "float". Acceleration is strikingly quiet and smooth- there is none of the signature shifting found in most other automatic transmissions. I generally can get out of the garage w/no ICE. I found turning off the climate fan produces the most incredible silence experience. The
smart entry/start, while not *needed*, is one of the neatest items I've ever had in a car. It wows everyone. Also, My favorite voice command is "XX degrees"
MPG so far:
49.7 (8.1gal) most recent
48.3 (7.9gal)
44.8 (7.0gal)
48.2 (8.3gal)
41.6 (8.6gal) first
Average temps have been 25-35 recently. I always fill up within 20 miles of blinking last bar. I haven't yet figured out what does it, but the consumption screen has twice mysteriously reset following fill up. I think it *might* be when you press *and* hold the ODO when it is displaying lifetime mileage. (Rather than trip A or B). still testing ...