VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

· Registered
405 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK I currently drive a 1996 Honda Civic, I want to buy a 2004 Jetta GLS TDI. Im brand new to VW and this website. I like the TDI because it gets 38MPG city and 46 MPG highway. Also I plan on running Waste Vegetable Oil(WVO), to save on gas.
I want to see some things I can do to it, performance I'd like 200whp but still get decent gas mileage is it possible if so send me a link. Also some interior and exterior things most liky going to doa EDM style.
Whatever you have for advice on buying it what to look for its my first VW, or other links/threads that might help me let me know and thanks.

· Registered
405 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Also I'm gonna have a 10gallon WVO tank in the trunk, are there stiff shocks springs I can get for the car maybe lower it alittle in the process.
Fill me in with any info you have doesnt have to be about the TDI just VW like I said Im a newb

· Registered
405 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
tdiclub was good, stealthtdi was nothing to speacial, it would be better if it included websites that sell the products I dont know what companys to use.

· Registered
11,806 Posts
Re: Buying a TDI former Honda (jollyTDI)

WVO on the 04 isnt a good idea because its the first year of the PD engine, nothing over 5% bio is recommended because of the high injection pressures

· Registered
1,116 Posts

If you already have a 1996 civic and you want to save gas money, keep the car you already have and drive it into the ground. IMO, the jetta will be more powerful, have more power potential, have nice things like stability control, side airbags, and long range/fuel tank, then the TDI is a good bet.
200 whp is quite a bit, at that level you'll need sticky tires and that will lower fuel economy too. You're talking upgrading the fuel injection pump, injectors, turbo, intercooler at a minimum. That's at least another $2500 investment.