VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just a general bit of info im after here. Im new to the country and looking to buy a Passat wagon shortly.
Im in Ottawa but have seen a few possibles in Quebec. How does it work regarding buying and registering. I have already bought a vehicle in Ottawa which was straight forward enough.
But if i buy from say a dealership in Quebec can they sort all paperwork and fees? Do i pay duty for both regions? this is new to me?
thanks

·
Registered
1,290 Posts
U pay tax based to the origin region.unless u don't drive it back from Quebec to ottawa.i thing u can pay 6% (i believe) in Quebec tax and the remaining in ontario after u register in ontario.

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
so id be buying in quebec and driving it back to ottawa. So do i get a temp plate from the dealer or what? if i pay quebec tax at the dealer do i then pay the ontario tax when back in ontario? less the amount ive already paid in quebec? is that right?

·
Registered
1,290 Posts
Yes at least this is what i was told when trying to buy a car in montreal when i called ontario lic office.

·
Registered
259 Posts
Quebec Dealers close to the border are set up for Ontario purchases.

My GF bought a city golf in Hull and the dealer set up all the tax payment and licence plate registration all in Ontario paper work.

when we went to pick it up, it was a fully registered in Ontario car.

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Quebec Dealers close to the border are set up for Ontario purchases.

My GF bought a city golf in Hull and the dealer set up all the tax payment and licence plate registration all in Ontario paper work.

when we went to pick it up, it was a fully registered in Ontario car.
that sounds ideal. The ones ive seen were around montreal area

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
call and ask.