VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm brand new to the new car owner world. This is my first car that cost me more than $1500. I just bought a 2010 Golf 2.5L at the end of October and I'm already getting the urge to modify it. But I don't want to void my warranty. I read an old forum about adding an amp and subs to their factory stereos, but apparently that wiring harness is discontinued. Is there another wiring harness that replaced this? I'm not sure if this is something that would void my warranty or not... Hopefully not. And if I can do this without voiding my warranty, how can I take apart my dashboard and put it back together without damaging anything?
I've also contemplated adding a nitrous oxide system to my Golf so I can get a little more horsepower for my money. Not sure if I'll actually go ahead with that crazy idea, but i already have a set of subs and an amp just sitting in my room collecting dust. So I'm a little anxious to get them into a car and out of my room finally.
If anybody has any suggestions for a first time VW owner, I'm all ears.

·
Registered
539 Posts
Re: Can I modify my 2010 Golf without voiding the warranty? (myfirstgolf)

there are a couple companies that make something so you can connect subs to your stock stereo, the only one i can remeber off the top of my head is rockford fosgate 3 6! and to the best of my knowledge there is not a way to add nitrous without voiding your warranty!! you might want to check and see in APR has software for your ecu yet cause the dealer is not able to tell its been re-programmed(supposedly).

·
Registered
7,094 Posts

Quote, originally posted by myfirstgolf »

I've also contemplated adding a nitrous oxide system to my Golf so I can get a little more horsepower for my money.

umm...

·
Registered
24 Posts