VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 20 of 62 Posts

·
Registered
2,334 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been griping about poor fuel economy for a couple months now, and it's finally warm and dry enough for me to do some work. I thought I would post some pics for the people who need them.
For a 2001 VW, these are what tools I needed: phillips screw driver, oem fuel filter ($8.43 at impex), saftey goggles, and towel.
VERY Important to wear safety goggles and to depressurize the fuel system. It's safer and easy. Heres how:
Pull your fuel pump fuse, #28 for my car 15amp. I removed the gas cap, to relieve pressure in the tank, but I don't know if it was necessary. With the fuse removed, and gas cap off, crank the engine for a second. I'm not 100% if you are supposed to let the car start, and then die once it loses fuel pressure or not?!? That said, this worked for me.

I used ramps, which is nice and quick to raise the car. If I had my choice, I would have had the car up about 6 more inches, but oh well.
The Fuel filter is under the car, by the passenger-side rear wheel. Here is a pic. The filter box, is placed underneath where the filter is connected:

Under the car, here is a pic of how the filter is situated. Notice, the silver can looking thing. That's it.

If you look close enough, you can see the black plastic connectors that attach to the filter ends. After I figured out how to remove the first one, the second one was easy. Unfortunately, there was no way for me to snap a pic of the connectors, and the litle rectangular button you have to push in.