VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
121 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My parents recently (Today) purchased a winter house in Florida. I am a college student and have my permanent address/Car Registered/ Car Insurance in Massachusetts. Since, I will be using my parents address as a permanent address until I get out of college, I am wondering if there would be any advantage or disadvantage to changing it to the Florida (i.e. Car Insurance Cost) until I get out of college? Any thoughts?

·
Registered
843 Posts
Re: Changing Residence to Florida??? (neb-type)

I would leave it all in Mass, as Florida insurance is extremely high (at least compared to Michigan.) I was wondering the same thing about three years ago when I first moved down here, but I left everything based as a Michigan vehicle since I still spend a few months up there.

·
Registered
5,542 Posts
Re: Changing Residence to Florida??? (GTO1)

Woah! DEFINITELY leave it in Mass, as FL has some of the highest insurance premiums in the US. Since it's a winter house, I presume it is in South Florida? South Florida's insurance premiums are ridiculous. I'm 23, I've got the minimum possible insurance, with one of the bargain basement companies, with an okay record, and it's still costing me close to $3K.

·
Registered
1,644 Posts

Better yet, let me know where your parent's winter house is and I'll use it as my permanent residence while your parents are away!

·
Registered
8,656 Posts

Where in FL are they moving? Insurance in South FL is expensive but North is relatively cheap.
There's a $100 initial fee for when new plates are issued and annual registration depends on the vehicle's weight and usually is in the $25-$40 range.
Also, there is no annual inspection/emission testing in FL.

·
Registered
121 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Re: Changing Residence to Florida??? (Y2kSI)