VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all, i'm new to the vortex, I just purchased a 93 SLC 2 weeks ago. I'm ready to get working.
One thing i've really noticed (as my forum searching has revealed - so does everybody else) is that the US OEM headlights SUCK. I have to drive with my brights on to see anything.
So, one of my first upgrades will be headlights.
I've noticed what appear to be absolutely clear lenses on euro headlights. Like below.

Regular euro lenses have diffusive/reflective lenses. Like this.

Can you buy the clear lenses? Where do you get them?
Thanks for the help

·
Registered
1,425 Posts
I've never seen those before, they look HOT! I too am interested in those suckers now. Although, it looks like someone might have just cut out a piece of lexan and done some modifying.

·
Registered
1,012 Posts
Re: Clear Lenses on Euro Headlights? (PorpShow)

My first guess would be Home Depot. Buy the plexi or polycarbonate, trace the euro's lenses, cut them out, and modify 'em to fit, if needed.

·
Registered
15,057 Posts
Re: Clear Lenses on Euro Headlights? (markymark420)

yes you make them, that is Mike's (shinnyG60's car)
Keep in mind, your beam patter is determined by the lense. You remove the lense and put a clear one in it's place you are not going to get anywhere near the quality, focused light of the Ecode.... Not to mention glaring light for oncoming traffic.

·
Registered
7,271 Posts
Re: Clear Lenses on Euro Headlights? (markymark420)

Putting a clear lens on the euro light will totally destroy it's function. The euro lens has lines on it for a purpose and that's to create a beam pattern and put the light down on the road. Putting a clear lens on will create glare and the light is not going to be directed on to the road but instead blind on coming traffic. It's a very non functional mod to do. It may look good but that's another story.

Modified by zarman at 7:22 PM 2-12-2004

·