VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 20 of 173 Posts

·
Registered
123 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,
I am new to this form. I bought a 2004 vw jetta 1.8t. At 360,000km. I'm so impressed with this car that I'd like to keep it going. I have replaced many parts that were faulty. And now I'm almost at 400,000km with everything original.

About a month ago my clutch went it's hard to put it in gear so I push it in the driveway. Whatever broke, broke right in front of my house so I did not drive it or mess with it. I put it in the driveway and decided to fix it myself.
I have no idea what to do at this point when it comes to figuring out which parts to get or tools. I feel like maybe at such high km it may need clutch and flywheel, maybe more things to get as a package to save money.

I'm hoping to fix this with a good budget and keep it as my daily.
Automotive parking light Tire Vehicle Car Plant

·
Registered
179 Posts
I'm going to say either slave cylinder or clutch master cylinder. At that mileage, it seems pretty okay for those parts to be failing though. New clutch, slave cylinder, and clutch master cylinder should get you back on the road and in good shape. If something like that fails, I always recommend replacing everything in the system to help prevent future failures. You can get full clutch kits with everything needed transmission side for in the $500 range if you're looking to go with O.E. parts. I would replace the dual mass flywheel, at 250k miles I wouldn't doubt that it's nearing end of its life. Valeo has a single mass flywheel kit that's within factory specs and should be right around $500 usd, only thing after that to replace is the clutch master cylinder which if I remember correctly varies significantly in price depending on where you buy it

Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk

·
Registered
123 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank you so much for you help. It's gonna be a fun install ones i study what your talking about.