VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4,166 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
WARNING/LEGAL ADDRESS: I am NOT a professional or trained and therefore I take no credit for any damages/deaths/injuries that occur while using anything in this thread. Always have a trained professional work on your car. AKA DON'T SUE ME IF U F...K UP!
Also as stated above I'm not a pro so I'm sure there are better methods then my own. so if u know a better way, please contribute! :thumbup:

OKAY! on to the DIY

Specialty tools i recommend www.Metalnerd.com good ppl :thumbup:
14 mm 12 Point Driver

Strut Spreader Bit

Specialty Double 21 & 22 mm Strut Nut Sockets

Assorted tools
13mm short socket
16mm deep socket
17mm or lug wrench
18mm standard socket
18mm deep socket
axle bolt 27mm socket 6point (old bolt) or 24mm socket 12point (revised bolt)
Automotive jack
2 or 4 jack stands
Needle nose locking pliers (i used them between the front sway bar link bushing and bracket since it just spins and wasn't loosening or tightening)
Spring compressor or 2 (i did w/o but for this u'll need replacement strut mounts & strut bearings
breaker bar recommended
a partner is also recommended or rig up a block of wood to hold the break when tightening axle like i did :laugh:
PB blaster or similar

these are recommended to be replaced: 2 front Strut mounts , 2 front Strut Bearings, 2 Axle Bolt, 2 Strut Pinch Bolts. Replace rear bolts if u'd like as well. ECS provides all these in a kit.
Assembling Coilover
Place the double socket like so with a hex driver (sorry to say i dont remember the size since i borrowed it) and tighten the nut to 60Nm/44ft-lb

Front Suspension\
Start by loosening the wheel lugs a bit and loosen the axle bolt (DO NOT LOOSEN MORE THEN 1/4 turn) while on the ground

Jack up car and place ur jack stands, refer to the manual if ur unsure as to where to place them. remove wheels.
Remove swaybar endlink on both sides. 18mm + needle nose vice like so