VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
3,946 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well, I hope I can be as thorough as possible. This is a DIY about refinishing your tattered, beat, cRubbed, bent wheels. I'm not a professional, as this is only my third set. However, hopefully with this DIY, people will think twice about passing up a very nice set of wheels because they're a little beat.
As always, I am not responsible for anything that you may do, whether it's hurt yourself, break stuff, or somehow set yourself on fire. This is an instructional DIY only. If you have any questions on the process, PM me.
List of tools you will need;
MAPP Gas
Image uploading. Refresh page to view

Disc Sander & LOTS of sand paper

Little bristle attachment for drill

Grinder

Jewelry cleaner

Drill

Adjustable Wrench

And some really nasty wheels...

Now, this was done with a two piece wheel, but I've done it on single pieces. This latest project was spurred by my love of cheap things, and RH wheels. As you can see above, this particular wheel is beat. Real bad. Curbed, oxidized, the whole bit.
Step 1) If it's a multi-piece wheel, take it apart. If you can't manage that without pictures, you might as well stop reading.
Step 2) Check out the damage. Look around the lip, face, and barrel for any cracks. Cracks are beyond this write-up, as it's a DIY, not a "DIY if you have access to a welder and can use it."
Mine looked like this...

Step 3) Now that you have no cracks on your wheels, we can start. Clean the back of the lip off to get all the sealant off of it, and set it down on a flat surface. Clean the bolt holes out, and any other foreign things you can wipe or scrape off.