VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 20 of 110 Posts

·
Registered
268 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Background​
I, like many others, drive a MK5 Jetta with the 2.5L engine. It is well observed that the vacuum pump (for cars with the 09G Tiptronic transmission) is an incredibly common cause of an oil leak. I happen to be one of those drivers. Unfortunately, mine was becoming worse, as I noticed more and more oil and dirt collecting on my splash guard every few weeks when I removed it to check for said oil. I looked everywhere for a "how to" guide, only to come up empty. Every time I looked through another post about this subject, I kept finding little tips or the thread would turn into bickering about different methods of replacement. I decided it was about time someone made a detailed guide on how to do it.

I decided to do it myself. This is my first time doing this repair. Owning this car has been an incredible learning experience for me (as well as working in a shop for a while now) but regardless, I hope with this guide I can pass along what I've learned to others.

This guide will show you how to replace your leaky vacuum pump using only common hand tools. All of these tools can be found from local hardware stores to your Snap-On representative. You will not need to pull your transmission or loosen the transmission bolts to the engine block! So, sit back, relax, and enjoy reading this lengthy post knowing that you won't have to spend more than $25 (plus some shipping) on fixing that oil leak.

The Tools and Supplies​

For parts, you will need the following

For tools, here is what I used

• (Unpictured) A LED lamp with headstrap
  • 2 different length magnetic ratcheting drivers
  • T20, T25, and T30 Torx bits for ratcheting drivers
  • 10mm wrench
  • a set of adjustable grip pliers (I have two pictured obviously, but it's only to remove the intake clamps)
  • 3/8" ratchet
  • 1/4" ratchet
  • 3/8" 6" socket extension
  • 3/8" 3" extension