VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
140 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
DIY Two-Tone Rear VW Emblem. Lots of pics. Beware

*Disclaimer I am not responsible for your mistakes this is only my experience that I am sharing. General information.
This is my first attempt at a DIY so any suggestions are appreciate.
Ok lets get Started this is our before picture:
Image uploading. Refresh page to view

Items needs thin hard plastic, Credit Card, club card etc.
I went to my local auto paint store and talk to the "expert" he said not to use sandpaper because it will open the pores and the paint will bubble. I've people use sandpaper on the front emblem, so prepping the plastic is up to you.

1 Can of Bulldog Adhesion Promoter
1 Can color match paint. You can find your paint code in the owners manual.
1 Can Black paint
1 Can Clear coat.
1 Abrasive pad

1 Roll of 3M double sided super strength tape.
All items were just shy of $70.00
Step 1: Removing Rear badge. Lock Rear hatch.
Push on the upper portion of the hatch handle and insert card through the botttom.

Use a sawing motion and upward force to get the card to cut the double sided tape underneath. Be advised don't break the handle or emblem because you will then be screwed. $200.00+ for replacement. This is the biggest PITA Step. Once done it will look like this:

My Chrome portion came off while trying to remove the whole emblem. It's held in with tabs you can push out. Luckily my tabs didn't break. If yours does just use the double sided tape or glue to attach the VW back on the background after the painting.
Step 2: Use dish soap, water, and the abrasive pad to clean both plastic pieces. ( These were directions from the paint guy). Be sure to rough up the surfaces. Finished looks like this:

Step 3: Apply Bulldog. Even light coat. Two if you think you need it.