VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 20 of 73 Posts

·
Registered
Model 3P, 981 Boxster S
4,659 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
The History:

Wow fellow TCLers, this thread has been long time coming. Ever since I can remember, Ive been a car enthusiast with a need for speed. I've been driving for 10 years now and my cars have never been performance oriented until now ( I did drive a Jeep Cherokee 4.0 in high school though). I'm the biggest car geek I know, other than people on this forum, and have always salivated for something fast and special with soul. My Cherokee had soul but wasnt a ninja.

Since college, I've been driving what slowly has become a beater 2001 Nissan Sentra. Today, it has an exhaust leak that causes it to stall while idling, cracked windshield, dented bumper, broken ac, and other little niggles that would of caused other sane people to throw it out a long time ago.

Competitors:

I did look at a GTI a few months before and came away underwhelmed by the driving experience. The interior was very nice and the car looks handsome. I love clean design and appreciate the wealth of details for the price. At the end I wanted the best mix of driving experience, toys, quality and price and felt the Mazdaspeed3 came out on top every time.

I also looked at used 335is, TSX's, TL's and just couldnt see how they would place more smiles per dollar than the Speed3.

I had actually never driven the second gen Speed3 but loved the first after a few test drives. Am I stupid to buy so blindly?

The Buy: