VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Yeah Im just going to come right out nd say it...Im a newb when it comes to VW. Ive only worked on Chevy and Ford so its a whole new ball park cause the engine and the car set up seams alot different then domestics. For my eighteenth brithday my unchale gave me a 1967 Beetle. So far it has a dual piston master cylinder, Aconversion kit from drum to disc, keyless entry, fyber glass quatter panels. But it still needs alot of TLC. It needs a transaxle rebuild kit, and interior an engine, gauges (The only thing else it has inside of it is a steering wheal and a tach) It also need a new Paint Job. I would love some input on what type of engine I should get and when I can go to get something for cheep.
Thanks

·
Registered
141 Posts
Well, i'm no pro myself. but i've been reading a lot of posts. So far I've gathered that it all depends on your plans for usage. Is it going to be a daily driver, race car, etc. I guess since it's your first car, that it's going to be your daily driver. There are tons of engine combos, and sizes you can choose from. It also depends on how much you want to spend and how often you're willing to work on the car.
a smaller 1600cc is a good start if you live in a fairly small town and if you're just going to be going to school/work. the samba is a pretty cool place to look for parts, complete engines, longblocks, whatever you need. I will say this though, based off past experience with other cars. Most of the time, you get what you pay for. "Cheap" might be cool for a little while, but it may break down on you sooner than you would like.

·
Registered
766 Posts
Re: (Zimmerkid)