VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2,469 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
How many people here actually have a hole in their fuel lines? My 2009 (manual transaxle) rabbit was in for warranty work last week and to my surprise, actually needed the recall performed!!! They removed a tab from the washer fluid reservoir but did not replace the fuel line. From what I understand, there is a revised fuel line that is shorter and sheathed with additional foam (VW always over does it) as well. My fuel line has a hole in it down to the metallic inner material, but was not replaced.

Should they have replaced my fuel line? It is my understanding that these lines are protected to prevent wear and tear as well as corrosion. I'm a mechanical engineer and well versed in the risks of corrosion, especially in an engine bay environment. Why did the technicians feel it unnecesary to replace my fuel line if it is compromised down to the inner wall?

Did anyone else with a manual (automatics don't bother responding because I already know the answer) have this problem? My car should have had a revised fuel line in it to begin with but somehow got overlooked at assembly apparently. Am I the only one around here that actually managed to rub a hole in my fuel line? If not, did your dealership replace the fuel line and to what extent was the original line damaged?

Thank you for any help in fighting the dealership. They don't seem to believe this is an issue yet they want to sell me $400 "fuel injector cleaner packages" every time I'm there. Hah.