VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1,283 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
alright - first off let me say i'm new to the MkI world and i have been using the search a bit to find out the answer to this question. I'm sure this has been beaten to death (it likely the Vr6 vs 1.8T topic of the MkI world) but here goes.
What are the different options for Fuel Man for a 16v what are some of the benifits of each
i have heard of -
CIS
CIS E
Digifant
Motronic
Jetronic
(are there others?, and what are these ones found in)
I have a vauge understanding of CIS (it's in my audi coupe gt)
can some one point me in the direction of an archive thread that reviews these different setups ? also the research is for mating a 16v in my 81 rabbit eventually to a turbo setup.
what i have been told so far is to look at switching to digifant as it is better on milage and can produce more power with its injectors rather than "throwing fuel at the engine" with CIS.
let me know your thoughts and thanks in advance

·
Registered
1,184 Posts
Re: Fuel Management options with a 16v Swap (Driverwanted)

From what I've heard digi SUX. I've been told it runs rich and that CIS is one of the best fuel systems VW ever made. I know a few people with the CIS and a turbo setup on a 16V. If u REALLY WANTED TOO u can throw a 2.0 from a 95 jetta or something in a 81 with the cross flow setup. and use a A4 intake cause it goes to the driver side and not the passanger like the A3 does. But IMO CIS is the best system I've used in a VW. I have had the Digi and I get better gas millage on the CIS as far as the CIS-E goes not really a inprovement on the CIS. Sorry but I don't have any links for ya just my 2 cents and input.

·
Registered
20,933 Posts
Re: Fuel Management options with a 16v Swap (Socialoutcast)

Hmmmm....Dear Sir....go straight to Books a Million or the like and by "How to Modify and Tune BOSCH fuel management."
Here's a break down and in NO WAY should I be taken by my word: