VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

· Registered
263 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm by no means an expert when it comes to standard transmissions, my dub is auto. But I sometimes drive my mothers GLS and find that if I try to downshift into first before coming to an almost complete stop, I get that awful grind.

I read in a few posts that shifting into second before first helps to avoid this, but was wondering if anyone else knows about any issues when downshifting into first? Thanks.
*EDIT: My car is automatic, but let me clear things up ... I was downshifting on my mothers Jetta GLS with STANDARD transmission. Hope this clears things up. Thanks. *
Modified by sphinx707 at 1:27 AM 7-16-2003

Modified by sphinx707 at 1:35 AM 7-16-2003

· Banned
22,906 Posts
Re: grinding while downshifting into first? (sphinx707)

its the tranny its going to blow up ...you shouldnt downshift in an automatic....
if you keep downshifting you will blow up your tranny..trust me.
so that being said...keep it in 3rd or drive...and youll be fine..no need to be downshifting ...unless you are on a 90 degree incline trying to get up it hahaa

· Registered
263 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Re: grinding while downshifting into first? (WRC Dorikin)

I didn't mean my auto, I meant my mothers GLS (it's stick)! I know you shouldn't downshift an auto!

Quote, originally posted by WRC Dorikin »
its the tranny its going to blow up ...you shouldnt downshift in an automatic....
if you keep downshifting you will blow up your tranny..trust me.
so that being said...keep it in 3rd or drive...and youll be fine..no need to be downshifting ...unless you are on a 90 degree incline trying to get up it hahaa

· Banned
22,906 Posts
Re: grinding while downshifting into first? (mybabyjetta97vr6)

ohh ok now you say its a stick lol ....