VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I posted this in the golf IV forum.. I didn't know this forum was here til a guy told me. Sorry for double posting but I just need some help

Sorry guys for asking but I'm new to the 'race' scene so please don't flame me.
I'm trying to find a perfect (or near perfect) launch RPM speed for a stock VR6. Anybody out there can give me some pointers or hints? I thought that 3500 rpm might've been good enough but anybody else have different thoughts?

·
Registered
5,023 Posts
Re: GTI VR6 (tatge)

quote:[HR][/HR]3500 clutch drop is perfect if you don't know how to drive and want to smoke your tires. This really isn't a 12v question either. The reason 1.8t drivers go to 3500 is because they need their turbo to spool. Run a search on "drag racing" or check out the drag racing forum Good Luck[HR][/HR]​
word..to much tr0k..i bring it to about 1500 and feather the clutch out..enough not to bog and not too much to hop and burn

·
Registered
502 Posts
Re: GTI VR6 (2002) - Launch RPM question! Any input is appreciated! (boya)

really depends on how you drive your clutch but i think play around with it at around 1400 to 2000 with traction off and find a combination of letting the clutch go without much sluggishnes or too much wheel spin. its all what you feel comfortable with.

·
Registered
2,609 Posts
Re: GTI VR6 (ricers-beware)

quote:[HR][/HR]by the time the clutch is out all the way im shifting into second[HR][/HR]​
haha, taken out of context its funny. so you are feathering it through 3k to 6k rpms? die clutch die!!

·
Registered
2 Turbo Wagons.
16,780 Posts
Re: GTI VR6 (O_loung1)

the cartest.exe program recommends a 2600 rpm clutch dump. Any higher, and you spin too much. Any lower, and the car just boggs. It works pretty well. When you drop the clutch, the RPMs don't drop much, the wheels spin for a bit, everything evens out, and off you go.