VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

· Registered
253 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Sorry if this has been posted before, i couldn't find it using search.

Is it possible to retrofit the Bi-Xenon headlamps onto a Halogen-equipped model?

I think i finally found the exact car i'm looking for. One has everything i want, but it's halogen, the other has bi-xenon but missing a couple things in the "want" list.

Would much prefer the first one, if the bi-xenon can be easily retrofitted.

Thanks for any and all input.

· Registered
253 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
The xenon car has the black karthoums, which i'm not a fan of, and i'd rather not finance the cost of it if i'm just going to sell it afterwards. It's also a DSG and no Dynaudio.

The halogen car has everything, but no bi-xenons.

It's so hard finding the combi i want, i've been working with a couple dealers for a couple of months now. My only other option is a 2011 but the packages are a bit frustrating.

· Registered
253 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
So it can be done, right? Is it a simple matter of getting the new headlamps and reprogramming, or are there other parts that are needed?

The dealer won't swap or take off the wheels since it's on the Monroney.

· Registered
1,105 Posts

· Registered
1,105 Posts
So it can be done, right? Is it a simple matter of getting the new headlamps and reprogramming, or are there other parts that are needed?

The dealer won't swap or take off the wheels since it's on the Monroney.
The bi-xenons also have a headlight leveler on the rear suspension. Not positive if it can be bypassed for installation but its there. I've never done the swap personally but I heard its possible. Personally I don't think its worth the cost because its much cheaper to get a car with it already.

· Registered
253 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·