VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
12,483 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First of all excuse my ignorance..I'm new to the A1 world.
I have an 81 Caddy I just bought, the heater fan blower does not work. I checked fuses etc..nothing blown. What is the best way to trouble shoot this?
Thanks
BTW here's a pic of my new project:

·
Registered
1,504 Posts
Re: Heater blower question (Supercharged VR6)

What you could do is pop the hood and see if anything has jamed up that exposed to the elements fan, maybe some leaves or bugs and such........if not you could run a jumper to the fan to see if the fan works, if it does not i would say that the fan is toast......i've heard of bad switches but those were always in the a2 golfs.........good luck.

[Modified by DURELL, 5:16 AM 11-27-2001]

·
Registered
73 Posts

I had the same problem in my A1 Jetta... It turned out to be the motor itself, which i took off my donor car and took about 30 mins to replace... then my switch was screwed up, it only worked on two notches. So i replaced that, and then that switch blew, so now I'm back to the original...
The point is, it could be either the motor or the switch, or leaves, etc. I diagnosed by checking for voltage at the motor when the switch is turned on... if it receives voltage then the switch is fine, and the motor needs to be replaced...

·
Registered
1,399 Posts
Re: Heater blower question (biggychase)

Did you have to pull the entire heatercore and heater box to test the motor?
I am having the same issues on my 80 Rabbit and I just replaced the ballast resist wire to see if that would help and no go.
Thanks for any help you could send this direction.
Peace

·
Registered
73 Posts
Re: Heater blower question (80rabbitc)

to test my blower motor, i only had to remove the plastic casing that protects the motor from leaves, etc... and then you can test it from there, unless your 80 is different from my 84 jetta?

·
Registered
12,483 Posts