VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner

1 - 20 of 78 Posts

·
Registered
2,198 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, the 8V is out and 16V is apart so the engine compartment is empty.
I figured I might as well replace the heater core, its probably the orginal one since this car is a 91 and I don't think the recall included that year.
So just so I know its new , its replacement time.
My dash is in excellent shape, basically perfect and I don't want to mess it up, so I'm gonna take it slow, and I plan on doing this without removing the dash.

I've searched the archives checked the Bentley, and no I have never done this before.
What I've found is:
Thanks to GranTurismoInjection for his post dated 09/16/05, he posted a link to a PDF file of the actual repair procedure from VW.
The Bentley and the VW process as well as some other posts are big on telling you how to do things without giving specifics.
So my plan is to post pictures and info from my heater core replacement in order to help others, tips and info that are not mentioned in other post.
OK my center console and knee bars are out. simple enough
Day 1 - for example, info says take out the lower floor vent section, but what you don't get is that there are 3 screws 2 on the left side and 1 on the right which is hidden way back on the right side, and took a while to find. And the 2 screws in the front of this section do NOT have to be removed.
pic showing 2 screws in front section that do not have to be removed

pic showing 2 screws holes left side,

pic showing securing tab on right side, rear of section,

and where this screw/tab connects