VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

· Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
yo everybody, im new to the mk1 and realllly want to know some stuff. im looking to buy a rabbit maybe deisel, maybe not. i want good gas mileage and a car that is fun to drive.
are they fairly easy to work on/ rebuild...and do they break down alot?
oh yea where do you find parts for these things?!?
thanx in advance

· Registered
3,657 Posts
Re: help a brotha out (truDUBr)

Quote, originally posted by truDUBr »
yo everybody, im new to the mk1 and realllly want to know some stuff. im looking to buy a rabbit maybe deisel, maybe not. i want good gas mileage and a car that is fun to drive.
thanx in advance

good mileage and fun to drive.
-yes
Easy to work on?
-yes, if the bolt/nut isn't rusted solid or rusted off
Break down alot?
- uh huh. alot. every wire is corroded, every hose is rotted, every panel is rusted, and the previous owner f'd alot of things up
Parts?
- buy a rabbit and plant it in your back yard, next summer you'll have a rabbit parts bush.

· Registered
933 Posts

sarcasim is always fun thanks.......i guess im not going to learn anything from posting

want sarcasm, go to the mark three forums.
in all honesty he posted the truth bro, these are 20 year old cars, this coast rusts. and i have only bought one rabbit that wasnt mangled by a PO somewhere.
now,are they fun to drive ? well im going to guess that the 1000's of mark one guys are still around for a reason

· Registered
358 Posts
Re: (QMK04Z)

Yea, pretty much everytime you go to fix something you find something else that's wrong with the poor thing. I've had mine since May, and even after tinkering on it all summer it's still nowhere near done. But you know what? I've never enjoyed working on a car so much. Good luck!

· Registered
1,576 Posts