VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hello this is my first time posting, i just sold my 5.0 mustang (88gt) and now need to purchase a car this is where i need some advice;
I can spend 10-11 grand cash (because where i live i cant afford to have full coverage insurance, and if i own a vehicle i can insure it at a lower premium)
that being said i'm looking into a 97 ish 1.8t with 5 speed and quattro
i think i can find one with about 60-70k miles BUT i dont want to be stuck repairing it all the time as things do fail with higher mileage used cars so If i get it i'm planning to buy a warranty for it (i've read on the audiforums that there are many available from different companys). This warranty will be about 1200-1500 dollars and should cover me for about three years. The only thing i would probably do to the car is do the chip. This being said do u think this is a good idea to purchase a used audi. My other option would be getting a 1 year old focus zx3. The way i look at it is in 3 years either one of these cars would be worth the same so why not drive the much better car. Is there anything wrong in my reasoning as far as value of these two cars after 3 years? Here is my main question, should i be worried about this aftermarket warranty, i talked to a guy at work and he told me this is all a bad idea, not to get an expensive luxury car with that mileage, he told me the warranty people will screw me and get out of repairs. Basically i wanna drive a car and if it breaks for a small deductible (usually 50 bucks or so) i want any mechanical problem to be taken care of. I'm looking for advice on this so if you can speak your mind please do. I want to make a smart decision. Thank it advance.

·
Registered
4,852 Posts
Re: help me decide on a used a4 (KevinsA4)

take a look into my car before you make a decision.
I'm asking $17500, but you wont find a cleaner, more well cared for Audi, I guarantee it.

·