VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
  • Mwerks and Fourtitude have rejoined VWVortex. For more info, see this thread.

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
445 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i got a 1983 rabbit L the other day. it hasn't run in a few years, and i am pretty new at these engines. i am thinking i am missing something simple, but i'm running out of ideas. i have haynes manual, but it's not so hot. here's where i am so far:
i have spark, i have a working fuel pump. i have a new fuel goes everywhere it's supposed to. the injectors spray well when i lift up on the airflow sensor disc. is that how they're supposed to work? in that case, how does the engine get fuel to start? is that what the cold start valve is for? or that thermo-time switch thing? i tested the terminal at the cold start valve, and it said the light would go out after three to ten seconds if it was working right. it went out for a second or two then started to blink. what's that all about? would either of these two things cause the car to not start? it will start on ether but will not stay running.
what else should i look for? any suggestions? what am i missing?
thanks in advance,
lucas.

·
Registered
3,243 Posts
Re: help me get this started! (lucas)

Sounds like the injection is doing it’s bit.
I have read, that if the cold start circuit is not working and the temperature is low the engine will not start
Strongly suggest you buy a Bentley Manual for the car, then follow the cold start test procedure.
Good luck,
fat biker

·
Registered
347 Posts
Re: help me get this started! (fat biker)

The cold start is working correctly. The Thermo-time switch closes the circuit when cold, and there is a hot start relay that will pulse the 12V to the cold start injector while cranking.
Your problems are elsewhere. Compression?
Marc

·
Registered
2,346 Posts
Re: help me get this started! (Norm95)