VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner

1 - 20 of 329 Posts

·
Registered
538 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Eibach pro-kit sports springs -anyone using these with stock shocks?

I was interested in the Eibach pro-kit sports springs as they are on sale for $242 with some online vendors, also they don't go quite as low as the VWR springs.
I know they are progressive but I am not looking to track the car - just lower the stance a little and maintain a decent ride.
Has anyone fitted them with the stock shocks and can give some feedback ?

·
Registered
352 Posts
I am a suspension noob. I had a set of the Driver Gear springs on my 2016 Golf, and they were just okay... I traded up to a 2017 GTI Sport last weekend, loving my Golf but wanting more, and I'm trying to figure out if i want to go DG again, VWR, or Emmanuele Design. Plus what other upgrades to get. I am budgeting $1200 for this right now but don't need to spend it all. Thankfully install will be fairly inexpensive (not included in the budget) for me due to my neighbor doing this stuff for a living.

I don't track the car. It's my daily. Though, I might like to go to autocross with the guys from work once. However, I love driving and the feel of driving so I am all about wanting the car to handle well, especially if I take it up in the mountains to hit some twisty roads, which I love to do, but I also don't wish to sacrifice the day to day comfort significantly.

Like I said, the DG were okay, but I felt like they were quite unexpectedly bouncy at times. Like they had uncontrolled rebound when I hit a dip at fast speed or going over an overpass where the asphalt turned to concrete and back again. I would not call them "same as stock" as I often read people say. I felt like the rear would just catapult up (exaggerating of course but you get it). Being that I have GTI with different shocks now I don't know if they will be different.