VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
959 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ok so i am new to all this cabby love but i'm feeling it, i have an 87 karmhan cab, crimson red. and i have a few questions for anyone interested.
first off the whole left side of my cluster don't work, tach and tripometer and the mile counter thing. i checked under the hood and the gear that connects the trans. to the cluster was busted so i replaced it but it still not working, everything else on the cluster works. any ideas?
second, why do so many people like the dual headlight setup better, i believe that the 4-light one looks alot nicer. mine has 2 but i have just gotten a 4 light setup from a 79 scirroco, it doesn't fit exactly but i'm going to mold it and make it fit (using both grilles i'll finger out a way to stick two more lights in there) so anyone got any ideas on how to do this conversion? i was thinking of extending the plate that the lights are attached to to hold one more light on each side and then with a dremel tool cut out the new holes for the lights. am i crazy?
uhmm also, anyone know if it's possible to take the window off the top and put it back on, my top has a 3 inch tear on each side of the top of the window and i want to take the window out, patch it and stick it back in (no money to change the top right now)

last but not least. any recomendations on what to change on my car first? i've heard that cheap start up mods could be switching the drumbreaks to disc ( which ones fit? only 16v scirroco?), strut bars in front?, anything else??

·
Registered
368 Posts
Re: Help with 87 cabbie (UbberRabbit)

Well it depends on whats your looking for (as far as mods go). I also have an 87. this is just alittle of what i did (so far)