VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just graduated college and have a job, so I'm in the market for a new (to me) car. I went to the local BMW dealership and they had a 2000 528i manual red w/black leather interior in pristine condition. According to the dealer the previous owner is a BMW nut and takes really good care of his cars. 50k miles. It has the M5 wheels, but no cd and no warranty. Drove it, liked it, and want to buy it. problem is I don't think the dealer is giving me a very good deal. he's asking 28k, which is about 3k more than what kelly blue book has it listed for. He pretty much volunteered to take a grand off the price, and I can probably haggle another grand off for a price of 26k. is 26k for a 2000 528i worth it? Should I be able to get a better price, or should I just walk? I've never bought a car before, so I'm new to this whole thing. I'm in zip code 22903 if that makes a difference.
One other question that's sort of on the topic. I've been looking around for a manual tranny 540i, but have yet to come across one. Do these things even exist? My friend was 5 series shopping last year and he told me he couldn't find a 540 with a manual tranny either.

·
Banned
5,252 Posts
Re: help with buying a 2000 528i (Phat Ham)

the 540i did indeed come in a manual, if you're not finding one.. you're not looking hard enough