VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
10,269 Posts
Re: How much work do you do yourself on your cars? (sar4497)

i probably can do more major stuff than i do its just that i dont trust myself , i usually end up breaking something along the way or loosing something

·
Registered
9,903 Posts
Re: How much work do you do yourself on your cars? (SSj4G60)

I usually try to fix as much as I can, and if I can't I'll usually find out whats wrong. I am still learning though and sometimes I don't trust myself with some stuff, but if I mess up I usually find a way to fix what I did wrong.

·
Registered
7,480 Posts
Re: How much work do you do yourself on your cars? (SSj4G60)

I do as much as I can with the help of my step-dad.
so far powersteering pump, rotors, brake pads, strut tower bar, air filter and intake pipe.
Its gone in for timing belt, clutch, value cover gasket (only cause it was in for the clutch), suspension, and brake proportioning valve.

·
Registered
1,658 Posts
Re: How much work do you do yourself on your cars? (BananaCo)

haha, my dad's a certified Audi tech with his own shop. He and I are the only ones to touch my car!! (except the Tire discounters guys...
)

·
Registered
3,850 Posts
Re: How much work do you do yourself on your cars? (coldweatherblue)

I do everything on my cars except for electrical.
I'm scared to death that I'll light my car on fire doing that.
I leave it to Mr. Dean Futrell if there's wiring that needs a fixin'.

·
Registered
11,354 Posts
Re: How much work do you do yourself on your cars? (16veebunny)

somewhere between "I can install bolt-ons, suspension kits, brakes, etc." and "I do fluid/filter changes, spark plugs, simple stuff "

·
Registered
2,468 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
Re: How much work do you do yourself on your cars? (BananaCo)

quote:[HR][/HR]i dun think i can trust myself to service brakes..[HR][/HR]​
you'll kick yourself when you realize how simple it is (and how much money you can save).